Santa Marija Gun Battery Standing Sentinel Over The Gozo Channel
During the 18th century, the power of the Knights warned as the threat from the Turks in the east receded and northern European nations extended their trade and influence across the Mediterranean. But the century began with a continuing and financially ruinous attempt by the Knights to reinforce the defences of the island, of which this gun battery was part. Begun in 1714, it guarded the channel between Malta and Gozo.
Of the many gun batteries across the islands, this is one of only three surviving in Gozo and Comino and, thanks to the recent restoration, one of the best preserved. Unlike the string of coastal watchtowers or lookout points built in the 17th century, these batteries were designed to ward off attack.
The battery has a semi-circular gun platform with embrasures facing out to sea, and is enclosed by a wall for
musketry to guard against a landward attack. It was armed with a mixture of 24 and 6 pound cannon. The blockhouse housed the ammunition and the garrison slept in ts basement.
Restoration works on the Gun Battery were undertaken by Din L-Art Helwa between 1996 -7 and 2003 - 4
and were sponsored by P. Cutajar & Co Ltd and the Comino Hotel.
The original 24-ounder cannon were made in a French foundry. Two are in place, as well as two 6 pounders found in the vicinity and recovered with help from the Armed Force of Malta. These are mounted on reproduction gun carriages.
The battery is accessible at all times. For more information on Din l-Art helwa Gozo and Cominno heritage sites and activities,
Tel: 21 220358
21 2259 52
Carolyn Clements in Gozo 21559679 / 9905 1866