The Carolingian monastery of Saint-Papoul was founded in the 8C In 1317, Pope John XX11 transformed the abbey church into a cathedral. Thirty-seven bishops controlled this bishopric before it was supressed in 1790. Today the remains of the old monastery can be visited, including the church, with its 14 C nave and 12 C choir, recently restored Baroque decor, 14 Gothic cloister and fine chevet. The latter is one of the masterpieces of the 12 C Southern Romanasque style and some of its storiated capitals and modillions are the work of the famous Master of Cabestany. The Bishops' Palace, a magnificent building dating from the 17C and 18C, is not open to the public. Saint-Papoul is now used to host musical and cultural events during the summer months.
The Collegiate church of Castelnandary
The site of two famous battles during the Albigensian Crusade, Castelnaudary has been the capital of the
Lauragais since the 15C The parish church by Pope John XX11 in 1318, has all the typical arshitectural features of the Southern Gothic style.
Practical Information: Saint Papoul abbey : closed in January and on Sunnday Mornings
Opened: From April to June and September
From 10am to 12,30am and from 2pm to 5.30pm
July and August from 10 am to 12.30 and 2pm to 6.30pm
February, March, October, November and December
From 10am to 11.30am and 2pm to 4.30pm
Abbaye de Saint-Papoul
7 place Monseigneur de Langle
11400 Saint -Papoul
Tel/Fax: 00 33 4 68 94 9775